Allow me to introduce myself…

I hate trying to describe myself succinctly online–I’m just going to throw that out there right at the beginning so you know not to expect eloquence from me.

My name is Erica, but my parents almost always call me by my first and middle names at the same time: Erica Michelle. I’m 21 years old, and I’ve lived in the same state, in the same little town, and yes, EVEN IN THE SAME HOUSE for my whole life. Although I can’t say I flat-out HATE this area (Central Pennsylvania), I’ve definitely become very bored here. I’m the kind of person who likes variety, excitement, and new experiences… and these things are hard to find in good ol’ Jersey Shore, PA.

Needless to say, I’ve taken every opportunity that I could to travel to new places. I’ve been to Los Angeles, Chicago, and a Native American reservation in South Dakota. I’ve even been to a couple of different provinces in Canada. But I’ve never actually been OVERSEAS.

I normally attend Lock Haven University in Lock Haven, Pennsylvania, but this fall from September to December, I’m going to be studying in Ronda, Spain, at la Universidad de Malaga’s Programa Internacional de Estudios de Español (PIEE). I’ve taken roughly 7 years of Spanish, and will continue to study the language while in Ronda to improve my fluency. I’m very drawn to different people and cultures, so I consider the experience of living in another country and learning another language to be VERY valuable. Spanish culture is particularly interesting to me, since I’ve learned so much about it in my Spanish classes.

I’m starting my senior year of college this fall, hoping to graduate in Spring 2013. I’m a communication major with an emphasis on journalism, and I’d love to write for a magazine someday. I also enjoy photography, and have done some paid freelance work in the past. Mostly, I like MAKING things, be it writing, or photos, or food, or art.

I’d like to use this blog as a way to memorialize my experiences while traveling abroad, and also as a way to communicate these experiences with my friends and family back home. At the same time, I hope that my blog entries can also be helpful to other students who want to study abroad or are studying abroad currently.

Like I said at the beginning of this post, I’m really not good at being succinct. But I don’t want to ramble on about myself too much already. There will be plenty of time to talk about me and my interests in future entries!

And more importantly:

19 days until Spain!

Leave a Reply

